Suicide

So how was YOUR weekend?

I spent Sunday morning in the Medical Examiner’s office, observing 4 autopsies…..The wife’s best friend’s hubby is a homicide detective and asked over dinner on Saturday night if I’d like to tag along for an autopsy he needed to attend the next morning….How many times in your life will you get asked that? I said yes, of course and that was it….

He picked me up the next morning with a dozen Krispy Kreme (yum) donuts. Since I am on Weight Watchers, of course, I had no donuts…I was proud of myself….Anyway, whatever…..

The main person we were there to observe was a 20 year old kid who had put a 44 magnum to the right side of his head and pulled the trigger….He had almost an entire case of beer in him before he did it….That couldn’t have helped his depression much….

I’ve never seen the inside of the human head, especially after it’s been cleaned out by a powerful gun such as the 44 Magnum….Very interesting….I realize that in order to do that job as a living (the autopsy doctor) you’ve gotta be just a little “off”….The attending doctor was a little off, that’s why I mention it….

The other 3 autopsies taking place were an 89 year old woman who had died at the nursing home after being strapped to a chair and unable to breathe, an overweight gentleman who appeared to have a heart attack after a car accident (I didn’t really ask, I just picked it up in conversation), and the one autopsy that I made a point to NOT watch very much of, was the 28 day old newborn who had suffocated in between her mother’s breasts during the course of the night…..The detective for THAT case called it “Death by Tits”….There is actually a slang term for it, it happens too frequently….

Bummer…..I’ll write more later…..
posted Tue, 08-03-04

Leave a Reply

