The Monster At The End Of This Book

MonsterI was walking past a used bookstore in Norfolk Virginia about the time this book was re-released and my heart skipped a beat. I hadn’t even thought about this book in years but I had a copy as a child. I loved the book, from what I remembered. I ran into the store and bought a copy. As a grown man, I still love the book. It’s absolutely hilarious.

The premise of the story is that Grover thinks that there is a monster residing in the final couple pages of the book. He begs and pleads with you to not turn any pages because turning pages will get you closer to the monster and what Grover feels is his demise. Grover makes some serious efforts to thwart you (bricking up the pages, tying them together with rope) but in the end you make it to the finish to find there is only one monster.

All the build up and it turns out the monster at the end of the book was there all along. The build-up can make for a great reading to a child and I plan on reading it to my son as well. I read it every so often anyway, just to “center” myself. Great stuff.

posted Sat, 12-11-04

Leave a Reply

