Face Off

I’m sitting here with my Vanilla Bean Coolata from Dunkin’ Donuts and I’m trying to figure out how to start out this review. Hmmm. Nope, still not getting any inspiration. Let me start out simple and then see if the words might “start to flow” like they usually do.

I love this movie. I had completely forgotten how MUCH I loved it until watching it with The “Wif” last night. We had rented Closer but, like I told her, I wasn’t really in a Closer type-of-mood. Face/Off seemed more fitting. She cringed when she saw the run time of 140 minutes and I had forgotten that it was that long. I promised her that it moved along quickly enough that it wouldn’t drag.

I had forgotten how much fun the movie was. As much as I dislike John Travolta, he’s pretty good in this one. I love the idea of how Nic Cage and John Travolta filmed the first half of the movie as themselves and then sat down and watched each other’s performances and then fine-tuned theirs for the SECOND half of the film.

If you haven’t seen the movie, it’s about FBI Agent Shawn Archer’s (Travolta) hunt for baddie Castor Troy (Cage) after Troy kills his 5 year old son. The first little while of the movie is amazing at painting Troy as a human with absolutely no remorse and no qualms about killing. He is such a hateful creature that you feel no sympathy for him.

Things get complicated in a high-speed chase and Castor is “captured”. During his captivity, he slips into a coma and a detrimental secret is revealed, buy only partially. In order to find out all information to squealch a possible disaster, Archer “swaps faces” with Troy and makes buddy-buddy with Troy’s brother in prison. The bad part? Only 3 people besides Archer know that he is know molded in the cast of Castor Troy. Hmmm. Where to go with this. Can’t tell too much but I guess I’ll just say that some bad stuff happens and the remainder of the movie is spent with Castor Troy in Travolta’s body enjoying life as Shawn Archer and Shawn Archer in Cage’s body despising every minute spent in the skin of his son’s killer.

Great stuff, seriously. One of John Woo’s best films, in my opinion. It appears that I’m not alone either. Rotten Tomatoes gave it a 93%. Damn, that’s good for an action film.

There, Janine! I’ve said some nice stuff about Travolta! I especially love his line where there’s a large group of people with guns pointed every which way and he says “Wheeeeee!!! What a predicament!” Tell ya, I just LOVE that line.

Picked this one up at Best Buy for $9.99 on DVD. Check it out!

Also worth noting, there’s a cameo in the prison from Thomas Jane. Little did we know that in just a few years, he’d be playing The Punisher!

Leave a Reply

