Bag of Bones by Stephen King

I actually finished this one a few days back and started into the ORIGINAL War of the Worlds by HG Wells (which, by the way is an AMAZING read).

Guess I thought I should put some thoughts down on Bag of Bones before it’s been too long and I don’t remember how I felt about it.

It’s a good book, really. The story is interesting and intriguing, no matter what you may have heard. When I was reading thru the user reviews on Amazon, there was a lot of opinions both ways, good and bad. In my own personal experience, I enjoyed it.

I haven’t read any Stephen King for quite some time. It seems to me that he, along with Koontz and Grisham (all three I used to read but haven’t in quite some time), just crap out books now. There seems to be such an overabundance from these authors that you wonder if they still write with feeling, if they still have any kind of “edge” to their writing. Bag of Bones delivered some serious chills down my spine and that’s exactly what I was hoping for.

The story is told thru the eyes of Mike Noonan, a novelist who just recently lost his wife (King does a great job of misdirection when discussing her death) thru an unforeseen tragedy. Mike suffers from writer’s block and a general sense of depression after his wife’s death and he heads to their summer home, hoping to break the cycle of uninspired attempts at starting up a new novel.

Shortly after arriving, he meets a young mother, Mattie, and her child and is inducted into the King-ish odd world of rumors, whispers, and odd bumps in the night.

The summer home he comes back to seems to be haunted by several entities, including his own wife. King does a great job of keeping the story interesting by tossing the supernatural incidents right along with the non-creepy tale of Mike picking sides in an ugly custody battle between Mattie and her father-in-law.

Things have a way of working out, although not like you might expect, as is King’s style.

I really enjoyed the story, especially King’s “shop talk”. I had never given much thought to a novelist’s worries.

Great stuff, worth checking out for sure.

Leave a Reply

