The IT Guy – Chapter 03

Chapter 3

The news reports finally got to be a bit too much to watch, even for me. It’s Saturday now and it’s been an entire week since the leak over there in California. The television is just static now and has been since yesterday. My DSL modem isn’t working either. Not sure if the office is down but I’m pretty much cut off from everything. It’s not a good combination to have an overactive imagination and nowhere to take it. Not good at all. I’m stuck sitting here thinking about how shitty things have become. I guess I should probably plan some kind of getaway from here. Not like it matters since I have no signal, but I’m gonna go plug in my cell phone and get that sucker charged up. I’ll be right back.

I’m living in a two bedroom apartment in Utah, if you can call it living. I moved to Utah for the tech jobs here before all this started. I had a girlfriend once too. We broke up a few days before all of this. I had a lot of stuff before the world went to shit. My car is still outside on the street. I pull out my binoculars and can see it from my balcony on the fourth floor surrounded by about a dozen of those things. The windows have been broken out and the glass is all over the ground next to the car. Those pricks don’t even seem to notice the chunks of glass all around the vehicle. Not like it would matter now, would it? Cutting yourself and bleeding to death? Doesn’t look like it would really bug them. My car was a piece of shit station wagon. Now although I call it a piece of shit, it got me where I needed to go and didn’t require much maintenance. I call it that because of its body condition. I bought it off a guy right after arriving in Utah for a few hundred bucks and never put any real money into it. Just the basics, just the bare minimum. Oil change every four thousand miles and it kept me going. What I wouldn’t give to be in that junker right now, driving away from all this. Where would I go though? I imagine that since it started in California and has made its way here already, there’s no outrunning it. No telling how far it goes.

I haven’t left the apartment since yesterday morning. I had the day off from work and ended up wasting it all away by video gaming. What I really should have done was gone and picked up some groceries. I’m down to one box of Cheerios, half a gallon of milk, some Oreo cookies, and five cans of tuna. It’s a sad existence I know but since it’s just me, who the hell else do I have to worry about feeding? It’s not like I ever have any company over. When the girlfriend left, she took all her friends with her. Yeah, that’s right. I didn’t have any of my own really; I was just borrowing hers for the extent of our relationship. Damn, I wonder how she’s doing. I wonder if she’s one of those things out there. Shit, it might do her some good. Help her loosen up a bit. No, that’s a pretty shitty thing to say. I wouldn’t wish that fate on anybody, even that bitch. She ripped my heart out but turning into one of those things outside is way too steep a punishment for her.

The longer I can go without those nasty bastards making their way in here, the better. The game plan this far is to just stay alive and stay hidden. Not “alive” like those fuckers. That’s not alive, that’s something else.

This apartment, like I said, is pretty secure with the front door being locked all the time. I guess you could say I got lucky because this complex has only been open a month or so. Why’s that good? Well, because not everybody has moved in yet. If everybody hasn’t moved in yet, that means that there aren’t too many people in this place to worry about. Hold on, just heard something. I’ll be right back.

Ok, I’m back. It looks like a few more of those things showed up outside the front door. As quiet as I’ve been, they still seem to know that I’m in here. Every time I’ve gone to the balcony, they go crazy and start with that moaning shit. It’s horrible to listen to. Every time I look out the window, there seems to be more of them. Last time I looked, they don’t seem to be going anywhere. That can’t be good. Every bit of noise that I make seems to be amplified a million times. It’s so damn quiet out there.

And that’s when the knock on my door sets them off again. Four floors up from the ground and they can STILL hear the pounding on my door. I grab my aluminum bat and head towards the door. Peering through the peephole, I can see who it is. Damn, I don’t want to answer it. It’s the end of the world, dead people are walking around and the only person I have to talk to is the prick from down the hall who blasts his shitty music all hours of the night. Damn. Damn. Damn.

Leave a Reply

