The IT Guy – Chapter 01

Chapter 1

I’ve never been much of a writer. I guess since it looks like it might be the end of the world, though, nows as good a time as any. I mean, what else is there to do? I’ll have to be quiet though. We’re talking complete silence. No typewriters, no keyboards. Time to break out the pencil and notepad. For being dead, those fuckers have some pretty keen hearing.

Ok, enough beating around the bush. My name is Eric and I work in IT. Shit I guess that should be in the past tense. WORKED in IT. There’s nobody left to network. There’s nothing left. Nothing but those walking corpses and to be honest, from what I’ve seen, they don’t seem to care much about technology.

It’s been only a few days since everything went to shit. Today is Thursday? Yeah, that seems about right. The news reports on Saturday said that there had been some sort of leak out on the west coast at a testing facility. I hadn’t really listened to the story, only a few clips caught my attention. There’s chemical leaks all the time in this country. I assumed this was just another one that they’d clean up. The end result would be a couple of lawsuits and some employee terminations, right? That’s what SHOULD have happened but unfortunately for us, it didn’t stop there.

Right after some pretty little blonde finished talking about the latest celebrity gossip, the same newscaster came back with an “emergency brief” about this leak. He said that the employees of the plant were acting erratically and violent. Local police had been called in to keep order and there would be more updates as they received them. I was tired so I went to bed. I mean why the hell should I care about a bunch of crazy assholes in California?

I’ve never really been one to sleep all day. Guess you could call me an early riser. I don’t believe in that shit that Ben Franklin said about early to bed and early to rise. Trust me, I work in IT. I’m not healthy and I’m damn sure not wealthy. Wise? Maybe a wise-ass but that’s about it. Anyway, I woke at seven on Sunday morning. I had actually forgotten to turn off the television the night before so it was still blasting away the news stories. I wandered into the living room of my apartment and saw another newscaster talking about that leak out on the West Coast again. Now, my curiousity was piqued. This seemed like it may be a bit more than your usual run-of-the-mill leak. This newscaster actually had footage of just outside the factory. He warned that it was extremely graphic and those viewers with children may want to have them leave the room. Now we’re talking! This news story was turning out to be pretty damn interesting.

The news station cut to the footage and it wasn’t pretty. It looked like a horror movie. There were screaming people. There were running people. And there were walking people. That was pretty creepy. Amidst all of the screaming and running, the folks who were just meandering along seemed to be a bit out of place. As I watched the screen, I saw one of the people walk in the direction of the camera. Slowly, yet with purpose, this factory worker came steadily towards the camera. The cameraman kept his camera on the man. His shirt was untucked on one side and he appeared to have some type of wound on his side. It had been wrapped tightly with gauze but it appeared to be bad enough to have seeped through the wrapping, leaving the shirt a crimson brown color. My eyes were glued to the screen. This worker seemed a little “off”. That’s about the best way I could put it. He was coming closer and closer to the camera until he was close enough to see his face. His mouth was agape and his eyes just seemed to be rolling around in his head. The reporter that was on the scene made a quick appearance back on screen and with his microphone in hand, asked the worker “Sir can you tell us what is happening inside your factory?”

The worker stopped for a second, turned slowly towards the reporter, and leaned forward. I thought that he was going to answer the reporter’s question. He didn’t though. As I stared, he leaned in to the reporter, awkwardly and bit him. What the fuck???? After biting him, he turned towards the camera again and then his eyes focused. Right on the camera. Right on me.

Leave a Reply

