Checking in again

I’ve got to be honest here; I feel great. No, really I do. Once that 2nd week of headaches was over with, I’ve been feeling fabulous. I’ve avoided all added sugars, with the exception of a trivial amount of honey in THESE little pockets of deliciousness (I haven’t even used the full amount called for in the recipe). I’ve been sleeping good at night and my workouts have been pretty good. My initial plan was to go until 4/25 but after recalculating my math the other day I realized that 30 days is actually going to be the 20th of this month. I joke about a beer and donut filled pig-out after my month is up but we’ll have to see. I may partake in something I enjoy after the month is up but it’s not a huge deal. Going to be running in the Jelly Bean Jog on the 23rd with The Wif and The Boy. There’s a pancake breakfast afterwards. Hmmmm. That’s actually the catalyst for me recalculating my math. I’m not going to feel guilty if I have a couple pancakes, even though I’m not looking forward to the tummy fallout from that breakfast. Anyway, we’ll see.

Couple links worth sharing that I’ve read this past week:

Stumbled across this extremely comprehensive and informative article about bodyweight training over at Eat, Move, Improve. Over the years, I’ve spent my share of time in the gym with the rest of the huffing-and-puffing folks. Although I’m not really that self-conscious about my strength (if I can’t lift it, I can’t lift it. I’m not going to throw my back out just to impress you), I will admit that I’ve always been a bit annoyed waiting on some meat-head to stop chatting it up with the girl next to him and put the weights back. I’m married and even before I was married, I didn’t go to the gym to pick up women. I went to the gym to WORK OUT and then get the heck out of there. That being said, I love being able to do my workout in my garage with no sharing of equipment (although my 6yo likes to hang from my gymnast rings and bust out some pushups when I’m out there trying to do burpees, bless his heart).

How about a quick dose of awesomeness? Head over to Justin Owings’ site and check out his recipe. Yeah, it’s a “meatza”. It is EXACTLY as awesome as you might think. In just one week, I made three of these bad boys and both The Wif and The Boy loved them. Granted, the cheese required for a pizza was a bit over my goal of minimal dairy (just a bit, he he) but I’ve still maintained my weight. In the past, we’ve made pizzas with a couple different gluten-free crusts and the best we’ve come up with has been the Kinninnick Gluten-Free brand. They’re pretty darn good, but there’s a bit of sugar in there, along with rice and corn. I personally don’t find that I have that many issues with rice, but during my month of no-grains I’ve made a valiant effort at getting rid of them (couple flubs here and there, like the couple bites of my wife’s Chipotle’s Lime Cilantro Rice last week)

Weight this morn was 178lbs again. So far, during these 30 days I’ve gone as low as 176 (after a fast) up to 182 (after a bodyweight workout). I’m fine with that weight; my only desire is to get this midsection a little less fluffy and a bit more solid. I can definitely feel my abs under there, screaming to get out.

2 thoughts on “Checking in again”

  1. A Paleo dude who also likes film and books? Awesome! I got a bit put off by some of the dogma I’ve seen around Paleo forums and a few blogs, but reading blogs like yours have made me more curious about it again.

Leave a Reply

