going dark

*******************************************************************************************************
IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ THE ENTIRE POST, THEN TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, I’m taking a break for awhile from Facebook and Twitter. I’ll still be over here, writing when it hits me. I’ll also be available via email at crzydjm at gmail dot com or dmiller23462 at gmail dot com. Unsure when I’ll return, but trying to just take a step back for a bit.
*******************************************************************************************************
I believed, for the longest time, that I was above the crack-addict level of Facebook and Twitter. I wasn’t. I don’t think that too many people really are nowadays.

I really don’t have anything to HIDE, per se, with my Facebooking and Twittering, but a couple online buddies (Grice) and (Matt) went dark a couple months back for around 40 days. I thought that was a pretty cool idea, but I didn’t see it necessary for me at the time. Hanging with The Wif the other day, she mentioned something about me Facebooking while we were having a conversation. During the time she was referring to, I actually WASN’T doing anything like that (I think I was just playing WordFeud), but she had a point and I really didn’t have much of a defense. There have been times in the last year that I’ve been more interested in my online interactions than in my real life. This article that CNN just posted really resonated with me.

TMI
I’ve always heard that even the best motorcycle rider will drop their bike at least once in their lifetime. If it hasn’t happened YET, it will eventually. I think that you can apply that to your online accounts as well. Everybody has to have had at least one “oh-crap-i-should-not-have-posted-that” moment. Besides seeing other people taking flak for certain pictures and status updates, I have had a couple myself that were the result of not fully thinking through what I was putting up. To be honest, there have been a couple that other people have considered inappropriate but I have seen nothing wrong with. I think it really comes down to the fact that it’s just so easy now to update something in real-time via your smartphone. There isn’t really as much of a “filter” with your online interactions. There have been so many incidences of this power being used for good, but there are probably even more cases of things being put up there that had no business in the public eye.

ONLINE VS OFFLINE FRIENDSHIPS
Having people that we’ve considered good friends come and go from our lives over the last year or two, I’ve started wondering if my online persona is just more likeable than my offline persona. Some folks have actually left the area and the correspondence has naturally just tapered off. Other folks have just stopped making an effort to get together and hang out. As so many articles have mentioned, you can be pretty selective in what you put out there about yourself in the public domain. Some people put hardly anything out there (the smarter way to do it) and other people post anything and everything(I’ve been guilty of a couple of those things, I won’t lie).

There are most definitely positives to having a Facebook/Twitter account. Since I’ve embarked on a Paleo/Gluten-Free/Real-Food journey over the last year, networking with likeminded folks has been a TON easier. Honestly, none of my offline friends (other than The Wif) have expressed much interest in this particular way of eating and it’s refreshing to find people who get the same weird looks as I do. I’ve forged a couple friendships with guys via the Paleo chit-chat on Facebook and Twitter and I honestly think that if we were to meet in person, we would probably enjoy a few beers together and think nothing of the fact that it was our first time meeting face-to-face.

WRITING AND READING
If you’ve looked through some of my older posts on this blog, you’ll see that I’ve gotten some extensive writing under my belt over the years. Whether you think it’s quality writing or is about as enjoyable to read as the “Q” section of the phonebook, I honestly enjoy writing and consider it to be a bit of an art form. I enjoy reading well-formed blog posts and articles and love to see how certain people formulate their choice of wording. I have always thought it would be great to devote more time to writing, whether it be reviews or stories. Considering my line of work and the hours I’m currently on, writing is not exactly the easiest thing to accomplish. There is a certain catharsis (for me anyway) in a good writing session. Both in story form and the ocassional journal entry, I usually feel better when I’ve gotten something down, “pen to paper”.

ATTENTION SPAN
My free time is usually spent either being a dad, a husband, reading up on paleo-ish stuff, or exercising. When I get the chance to sit down and relax, my mind is usually going a mile a minute and I have a harder time focusing on any one particular thing anymore. I really have to put my mind to it if I don’t want it to wander all over the place. I’m curious if taking an online hiatus from the constant updates would help slow me down again.

BOTTOM LINE
I think I’ll just back off for a bit. If you need me, you can either comment on this blog, or drop me an email.

5 thoughts on “going dark”

Leave a Reply

