The Game Is Afoot…

Mountain-ClimbRemember the other day when I asked what you, as a writer, used as your muse? What you looked to for inspiration? Well, I still haven’t figured it out yet for myself, but I’ll let you in on a little secret; I love this game.

When I write, the sentence structures form themselves out in my head before they ever hit the page. Granted, sometimes they sound better inside my head than outside it, but I love the game of putting them down and then putting them back up until I’ve let my voice out the way I wanted it to sound. If you haven’t already noticed, I’m a big fan of the semi-colon and it makes quite a few appearances in my rambling writings. I guess when I’m forming out the sentences, it seems like a little bit more of a pause than a simple comma. It’s almost like a continuation of the sentence, or maybe more like a sentence within a sentence.

I’ve mentioned it before but it’s worth another mention; I’m a reader AS WELL as a writer. I’m pretty sure that any writer worth their salt happens to enjoy reading as well. I could be wrong, of course, but I love noticing other writers’ word placement; they way that THEY form their sentences. My goal, as a writer, is to write things that I would actually like to read. When I sit down and start typing on my laptop, most of the time I have an idea of how I’ll start out whatever I’m writing on, and then it takes on a life of its own.

Sometimes I struggle in conveying the point I want to make. As a case in point, there is a draft sitting on the WordPress server right now that I’m having a tough time finishing up. It’s a humorous piece but I’m having a hard time working in a transition between two stages of the piece. I can’t, for the life of me, figure out how I want to jump from a certain paragraph to another. The words are just not there. I don’t know how I’ll make that leap, but I do know one thing; I love the process of getting to that point. I’ve toyed with the idea of scrapping the entire thing and starting over (or not bothering with that particular subject at all) but there are certain phrases and sentences that I’m proud of; that I’m happy to have written and adopted as my own.

That particular draft will continue to sit in my list of pending posts until I can get the inspiration to finish it up unfortunately, but it’s because I want it to be obvious that it wasn’t a half-hearted effort; I want you to chuckle when you read it as much as I hoped you would as I was typing it.

There wasn’t much substance to this particular posting, but as I was riding back from watching a buddy get a tattoo this evening, that “itch” struck me and I knew that I had to scratch it. Usually I will type up my blog posts and set them for a delay but tonight there’s not really any reason for a delay so here we are 550 words later and I’m off to bed.

Leave a Reply

