Exercise in Creativity #2

thinkingRemember a month ago or so I had stumbled across a writer’s blog where they had proposed a challenge? The challenge was, in 350 words or less, to write a story using a sentence they provided. Take a look at my first attempt here. Well, I’m trying it again as an attempt to jumpstart some creativity. I’ve got two pretty major stories sitting here on the WordPress servers in “draft” status, awaiting some more inspiration. The itch to write has been bugging me, however, and I had to get something down. With no further ado, here’s my short 348 word story. The sentence provided by the initial blog post happens to be the very first sentence below.

*****************************************************************************

“What do we do now? You told me nothing could go wrong and look what’s happened.”

“Your first mistake was listening to me. I have no idea what I’m doing here! This is a first for me!”

“Great to find that out now! Well, I guess we’d better get this all cleaned up before the sun comes up.”

“Agreed. You grab that end and I’ll grab this one.”

“No way. I’m stuck with THAT end? You get the end with the smallest amount of mess, while my end is the one that will most likely slip out of my hands and leave a stain on the front of my pants. Not cool, bro, not cool.”

“Fine then. I’ll grab that end. I knew that bringing you along was a mistake.”

What is THAT supposed to mean? You just admitted that you had no idea what we’re doing here.”

“Well, yeah but-oh never mind, let’s do this.”

“Ok, we’re doing this. Now shut up and I’ll grab my end if you move out of the way. You’re standing on my end right now.”

“True. Well, here I come. Never mind; there’s no room. I can’t move to the other side of you.”

“Well, don’t make a big deal out of it, just step over instead of around.”

“There is no way that I’m stepping over this. Look how long of a step that would be. There is no possible way I can step over. Would you want YOUR foot to end up somewhere in the middle if you lose your footing? No way.”

“Well, use your head would you? Honestly, both of us will probably have to step across this to get to the other side. This alley is too narrow to get around.”

“You know what? Let’s just take care of this. You stay at that end and I’ll stay at mine. I”ll just buy a new pair of pants, if you’re still splitting your earnings with me.”

“Hold on man, it looks like he’s still breathing.”

“You know, I think you’re right. What do we do now?”

Leave a Reply

