The Tree

desert_night

I stop walking.

As the sun reaches this dark place,
What stands out is the purple and lace

There was hatred and fear
Why did it happen here?

What went through his mind that night?
Why did this seem alright?

I don’t know how to react,
I can’t justify this heinous act

I sip my water and shake my head,
Fighting back my anger in red.

Those who caused this pain were not men in the least,
If I had to label them it would be as beasts.

I start walking.

One thought on “The Tree”

Leave a Reply

