Memories Of My Sis

It has been nearly 25 years since my youngest sister Leah passed away in October of 1991. As I was cleaning up my man cave / office over the last couple of days, I came across a stack of papers I haven’t taken a look at in quite some time.

The day after my sister passed away, her classmates at school were given the opportunity to write down their thoughts and memories about my sister. They are heartbreakingly honest and raw, as they only could be from fellow 7 and 8 year olds coming to terms with death.

As both an effort to “digitize” these thoughts and collate them somewhat as an “art project” in Leah’s memory, I will be presenting one each day, Monday through Friday, until they are complete. I’ll use the hashtag #leahmemories and present both the scanned image and the words typed up as they appear, grammatically intact. The uploads will begin on Monday, June 13 and be ordered in the same way they were scanned and stapled together for my family years ago.

If you are one of the people who wrote up a memory for my sister, I thank you. If you would like your name edited for privacy concerns or anything, please contact me directly at crzydjm AT gmail and I’ll take care of your request.

Continue to rest in peace, baby sister. Not a day goes by that I don’t miss you.

P.S. I was 14 when Leah died, so any references to “Mr and Mrs Miller” are for my parents

25 thoughts on “Memories Of My Sis”

Leave a Reply

